DIY fun, Health & Wellness
Comments 2

DIY: Marc Allante Inspired Painting

I first stumbled upon Marc Allante’s work when I was browsing through the Huffington Post. His bold use of color against subdued backgrounds inspired me to re-create his work for an assignment on, you guessed it, paintings inspired by professional artists! Though I appreciate Allante’s subdued backgrounds, I wanted to create something a little bit more upbeat and playful (like myself) so I decided to use multiple colors for the background.

20130415-132106.jpg
Allante’s original painting.

After applying two coats of gesso, I layed out 5 strips of tape along the length of the canvas to create six different color sections (magenta, orange, yellow, green, blue, and violet). Then, I mixed each acrylic paint with a LOT of water, to make a wash, painted each section, and left it to dry.

I wanted to make deliberate paint drips, instead of random splatters, so I dipped my brush in a bit of paint and then quickly dunked the brush in water so that the paint would carry across the canvas. If the paint stopped dripping halfway down the canvas, I dipped the brush back into the water and then pressed it against the canvas again.

20130415-132244.jpg

I experimented with different levels and colors to add a bit more depth to the painting. Some drips started at the bottom, some in the middle, and the others were close to the top. I let this layer dry before outlining the spot that I used for the silhouette.

The points at which the paint drips originated from created some odd, raised clumps underneath the gesso. I solved this problem by sanding them down until they were pretty smooth, and then applied another layer of gesso to hide any colors that had been exposed.

20130415-132406.jpg

The final step in creating this work was drawing and painting the silhouette. I studied several silhouettes that I found on google and practiced drawing them on pieces of paper. I transferred my best one, by hand, onto the canvas and then carefully filled it in with several coats of black paint.

20130415-132600.jpg

The finished product!

This project may seem pretty complex, but I can guarantee you that it’s actually quite simple! I don’t have a lot of experience with painting so very little technique is required. Just open your mind and feel free to create!

Xoxo,

Natalie

Follow on Bloglovin

2 Comments

Leave a Reply

