Life, The Bolt
Comments 4

The Bolt // No. 1

The – ϟ – Bolt

A weekly curation of fabulous finds and personal favorites!

This Week’s Top Moments

TV

I’m not really a T.Swift fan, but Jimmy Fallon’s ‘Ew!’ skits always crack me up!

Film

Remembering Robin Williams… Robin Williams was such a talented actor and comedian. He brought smiles to the faces of people of all ages. I can’t believe I was only three-years-old when Flubber – one of my favorite movies – came out! May he rest in peace and best wishes to his family.

Life

Ms. J

Last year I ran into Benny Ninja… Yesterday, I met J Alexander (aka Ms. J from America’s Next Top Model)! I wonder if Tyra is next?

What I’m…

Laughing About

Quoting Rappers in my Job Interviews… I was surfing Bloglovin’s popular page and stumbled across a hilarious post on Helene in Between about responding to a job interviewer with famous rap lyrics. Quirky quips include “Certified, everywhere, ain’t gotta print the resume!” and “A Milli” in response to the questions “Do you have your resume?” and “What are you looking for in terms of starting salary?”

Thinking About

New beginnings… I’ve spent most of this summer reflecting on the past school year and thinking about all of the adjustments that I’d like to make for the new one.  I’ve spent a lot of time asking myself: what’s really important to me? what do I want to make time for? how can I live a more balanced life? Thinking alone won’t do the trick, so I’ve looked to different sources for inspiration. I’ve been reading these articles on The Simply Luxurious Life and I’m also reading Shawn Achor’s The Happiness Advantage. Both have been crucial in helping me pinpoint the things that are most important to me, readjusting my mindset, and creating a more balanced and fulfilling life!

Dreaming About

RGB Nail Polish … RGB’s nail polishes are free of formaldehyde, toluene, DBP, formaldehyde resin, and camphor. The colors are absolutely gorgeous! I haven’t tried them out yet, but I’m dying to try Bare, Dew, and Pool. Epic Beauty Bar  has a special promotion – buy 3 and get a free top coat!

A Little Luxury

Sugar

A guilt-free, healthy brownie made from the best ingredients! I was a little skeptical at first, but it turned out so well… Super fudgy and moist! Click on the picture to get the recipe! Check out more of Secret Squirrel Food’s recipes here.

Spice

I had my first piece of Smashed Avocado Toast at a little place called “The Butcher’s Daughter,” and loved it! I had to re-create it at home, so I went hunting for a recipe online and found one that seems pretty similar. I like to add red pepper flakes for an extra kick. Here‘s the recipe.

Everything Nice

I’ve been obsessed with these Baby Buddha Banks for the longest time! This one represents faith. Unfortunately, the original 8″ figures are no longer being manufactured, but you can buy a complete miniature set of 6 here for $25.

For The Weekend

Pause

Underneath the Palm Trees

Take a Time Out… Grab your head phones and find a quiet, bug-free spot in the great outdoors! Watch the sunset or gaze at the stars. Inhale. Exhale. Breathe. Enjoy! Share your pause with me @BeautyBolt .

Create

Song of Self Project

Now that I’m looking at this it sort of looks like a mess, but a it’s a beautiful mess none the less! This is actually a school project called “The Song of Self” inspired by Walt Whitman’s “Song of Myself.” The left side says “Innocent” and is followed by the word’s definition. The right side is a quote from Mother Theresa. I had so much fun with this project – especially when I was melting the crayons (most of which have fallen off)! Check out some more melted crayon project ideas here.

Give

Thanks… I spent the summer working in the billing office of a local hospital. Not the most exciting summer job, but I met some really amazing people! Before my last day had arrived, I thought about giving thank you cards to my boss and my supervisor. Then I thought about doing something for the rest of the staff because they really made an effort to make me feel comfortable and included, and I can honestly say that they are some the kindest people I have ever met. So I bought two-dozen donuts and they loved them! It was a small gesture, but it felt really good to do something for someone else. They also bought me the cutest cake as a parting gift!

What do you want to see in the weekly Bolt? What would your Bolt look like? Let me know in the comments below or tweet @BeautyBolt! Have a wonderful weekend! Natalie ϟ

Images: (1) (2) (3&4) (5) (6) (7) (8)

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

