Beauty, Face, Skin & Hair
Comments 4

New Summer Skin Care Routine!

Cruel summer doesn’t even begin to describe what my skin has been going through during this hot, humid yet magnificent time of year. During the summer time, my t-zone becomes oily, acne prone, and the pores around my nose get huge – a big change from my normally dry, sensitive skin. I like to keep my skin care routine pretty simple and I try to stick to natural products as much as possible.

Summer Skin Care Essentials

AM Routine

STEP 1 – Cleanse: The first step in any great skin care routine is to cleanse, cleanse, cleanse! I’ve been a huge fan of Burt’s Bees Sensitive Facial Cleanser for years because it’s always done a great job at cleansing my skin without leaving it feeling stripped. However, when it’s humid, my t-zone gets extremely oily and I need something a little stronger that won’t dry out or irritate my skin. I’ve been using Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions Purifying Gel Cleanser for the past couple weeks and it has done a great job at cleansing my skin and getting rid of excess oil without drying it out.
STEP 2 – Exfoliate: I have a confession to make. I stopped exfoliating my skin… for months. I kept breaking out and I wasn’t really understanding why, I thought it was my products or the stress, but it turns out exfoliating is really, really important. I’ve been using Laura Mercier’s Flawless Skin Face Polish 2-3x a week. I prefer natural products and my sister just happened to give me a sample. I actually really like, but I will probably switch to a natural scrub or face peel when it runs out.
I think exfoliating is crucial for people that use face oils. The oils themselves don’t make you break out, but you will break out if the oil gets trapped inside your pores with bacteria and dead skin cells.
STEP 3 – Moisturize: I loved my Argan Oil but I felt like I needed a lighter oil for the summertime. After doing some research, I felt like Maracuja (Passion Fruit) Oil would be the best option. Maracuja Oil helps to
  • Rebuild and repair skin
  • Soothe irritation and itchiness
  • Hydrate and brighten skin
  • Improve elasticity and texture

It really is a great product, and I highly recommend it. I bought the travel size (0.5 oz) version of Tarte’s Maracuja oil from Sephora for $15, which is pretty good considering it should last for about a year.

 

PM Routine

STEP 1 – Cleanse: Cleanse with Burt’s Bees Natural Acne Solutions Purifying Gel Cleanser

STEP 2 – Double Mask: Once or twice a week I feel like I need a deeper cleanse and something to help close up my pores, so I do a face mask. I start with Lush’s Catastrophe Cosmetic Face Mask – a delicious mix of blueberries, irish moss, almond oil, rose, and chamomile. It’s a great mask, especially for those who with sensitive skin, but my skin needs an extra boost of moisture afterwards, so I do another mask. The second one I make myself and is just a mix of avocado and honey. Both avocado and honey are great moisturizers, but honey also helps to get rid of bacteria. I got the idea to start double masking from this article.

STEP 3 –  Moisturize: My skin doesn’t need a lot of moisture after I double mask, so I usually just apply 1 drop of the Maracuja oil (instead of 2).

Tips

  • My face gets super oily when I’m outside, so I always either splash my face with cold water or dab a cold, damp wet piece of paper towel to get rid of any excess oil.
  • If my face feels itchy or I can feel a pimple coming up, I dab with cold water and then apply a little bit of Argan or Maracuja oil

 

UNT,

Natalie ϟ

4 Comments

Leave a Reply

