Art, Celebrity, Culture, Entertainment, The Bolt, TV
Leave a Comment

The Bolt // No. 3

The – ϟ – Bolt

A monthly curation of fabulous finds and personal favorites!

This Week’s Top Moments

NYFW

givenchyss15.1

Givenchy decided to come stateside for fashion week this year, showcasing a beautiful collection with views of the sun setting over New York City as a backdrop!

yeezy

Kanye also decided to surprise everyone with his second show, Yeezy Season 2. The line was inspired by Vanessa Beecroft’s performance art and is inline with Kanye’s casual, cool, neutral style.

Social Media

The Kardashian-Jenner klan finally launched their highly anticipated websites and apps! Kylie’s seems to be taking the world by storm – sharing behind the scenes footage of her life and exclusive beauty tips on her website.

Life (…More Fashion Week)

Fashion Week SS16 was pretty great for me this year! I was one of the TV hosts at Plitzs New York City Fashion Week at Hotel Pennsylvania. I saw 25+ shows all in one day and all of the designers were so talented. One of my favorites was Earl Battle, who I also got to interview! I also attended the Doré SS16 Presentation at the Gramercy Park Hotel! The venue was so beautiful – it was on a roof top garden with a little in-door lounge area. Claire Sulmers from Fashion Bomb Daily also made a brief appearance before heading to another show. I also had a chance encounter with street photographer, Anthony Lewis (aka Neat Shiny Owl).

What I’m…

Thinking About

I’m a little late to the party on this one, but I’ll share it anyway! Badly Drawn Models is one of my new favorite Instagram accounts. It’s mission is simple, “Beautiful people drawn badly.”

Dreaming About

*Opens gates to heaven* I came across Public Desire‘s Instagram page and don’t think I will ever look anywhere else for shoes. Great shoes! Great prices (all of these are under $50)! What more could a girl want? Shipping to the U.S. is usually around $8! These shoes were most definitely made for stalking – I literally stare at them all day. Shop away friends! Be sure to use their 20% off discount code: SALE20

Laughing About

Screen Shot 2015-09-17 at 12.03.55 AM

Candice Swanepoel took a tumble at Givenchy’s SS16 show on Monday. She later posted this picture on her Instagram page, showing that she has a sense of humor about the matter. Carry on, Candice! #StumblingIsSexy

A Little Luxury

Sugar

Sweet Potato Quinoa Cakes with Strawberry Basil Salsa

My first introduction to Jessica’s blog “How Sweet Eats” was in a Huffington Post article detailing the many ways in which quinoa can be used. I saw the recipe for Sweet Potato Quinoa Cakes with Blackberry Salsa and knew that I had to try it! This recipe is amazing! I baked microwaved the sweet potatoes first (I used two small ones instead of one medium) and then sautéed the onions and garlic separately, and used cornmeal instead of bread crumbs. I didn’t have any blackberries, so I made a strawberry basil salsa instead. It’s quite simple: strawberries, basil, a little bit of white (or red) onion, honey, and lemon juice! The onion’s (in the sweet potato cake) can be a bit strong initially, so let the cakes cool down just a little bit before you take a bite! (Follow me on Snapchat – Natsnbolts – to see more of my life and what I’m cooking)

Spice

Another amazing recipe from How Sweet Eats – The Honey Chipotle Chicken Bowl! I was too hungry/ excited to take a picture, so I’m sharing one from the original post. I cut the chicken into strips before marinating it and actually let it cook in the marinade. It took a little bit longer, but it was well worth it. I didn’t have any honey mustard so I just used a little bit more honey and a little bit more mustard, and used red chili pepper flakes (not a fan of black pepper). Now I just need to figure out how to use the rest of the chipotle peppers – I’m thinking about making some chipotle pesto and maybe some chipotle mayo (sub the mayonnaise with greek yogurt for a healthier option).

Everything Nice

Chelsea Market is one of my favorite places in New York, and I try to go there every few weeks. I was in the neighborhood a few days ago and decided to finally try Los Tacos No 1. I can’t believe I’ve walked by this place so many times and haven’t taken the time to try it. I had a Chicken Quesadilla with cilantro, guacamole, and pico de gallo (no extra lime needed) – it was the best Mexican food I have ever had. I asked for a corn quesadilla – it was delicious, and a lot crunchier and thicker than most. They also melt the cheese directly onto the quesadilla and leave it open face, like a taco. This, I’ve been told, is how quesadillas are made in Mexico. Oh, and did I mention it was only $4.75?!?!?! I also topped it off with the most refreshing horchata *sigh* ’twas a meal to remember.

Coming Up!

This Week: Keeping Up with the Kardashians, Dash Dolls, Empire, and How to Get Away with Murder

Stay tuned for more on fashion month!

Have an idea for next week’s Bolt? Let me know in the comments below or tweet @BeautyBolt!

Have a wonderful weekend!

Natalie ϟ

Images: Slider // 1 // 2 // 3 // 6 // 7-12 // 13 // 15 // 16

Leave a Reply

